Running with wedding magazines..

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

So have I mentioned Dan isn’t a long distance runner? His last words after I forced the Hampton Court (his first and only) half marathon upon him last March was ‘never again..unless it’s the London marathon’…uh oh! 

But those who train together stay together (lol, cue sick bucket!) I HATE the interval/fartlek sessions and would give them up in a heartbeat. Dan says he can literally feel my eyes boring holes into his back as I try and catch him up. But to be honest, he is lucky I’m not chasing him down the street with wedding magazines! 

l will however, happily keep the momentum on the long runs. An hour into our 13 miles on Saturday and Dan had  ‘are we nearly there yet’, ‘I’m hungry’ written all over his face. Inspiralized sweet potato carbonara is sooooo delicious but I think double portions may be needed..

Running up the aisle, suggests that I should turn to the ‘wedmin’ *cringe* part of the blog. 3 weeks after the run we are getting married. It has been suggested I run to the venue (3 lovely short miles) but no matter the distance I always turn the colour of a tomato. No joke, an old man once stopped me in the street to tell me that perhaps I should slow down. I had only run 10 mins. The fact that I sounded like Darth Vader probably didn’t help. I will be totally vetoing that idea (but thanks for the suggestion, Dad).

So, how to fit running around the wedding planning (note wine tasting) and the ‘dos’ aka stag/hen, the inevitable hangovers and the inability to leave the sofa? No idea – right now my plan is to be running 17 miles after work, the night before my hen (which is next week!) ahhhh this s*@t is real!! On paper this idea works, in reality? Let’s see! 

It’s almost pay day, please don’t forget to sponsor us! 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Published by

runninguptheaisle

Running a marathon is a walk in the park, right?! We have done a couple of half marathons, and this has always been the ultimate challenge.. but three weeks before our wedding? Everyone has told us we are mad. Raising money for the fantastic charity, St Joseph's Hospice, on the other hand makes total sense! Providing unequivocal vital care and support for patients and their families with life threatening and serious illness, St Joseph's Hospice is far reaching but costs £15 million a year to run, so very much relies on generous donations (like these) to keep doing it's vital work. We appreciate any support you can for St Joseph's Hospice and we in turn, hope to keep you amused with training anecdotes, cringe worthy photos and brief blogging... wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

